Join Cherita on the Tour de Cure

Fat, frustrated, unfit and faking it. That was me, CHERITA ANDREWS, one year and one-hundred pounds ago.  Now I stand Fit, Fabulous and Free.

In January of 2010, my daughter Victoria and I were featured as contestants on NBC’s top rated show “The Biggest Loser”. On day one I faced a 26.2 mile bike marathon. It was a life changing challenge that proved I was the least fit of all the Season 9 contestants.  Failing at the bike challenge, sent me home. However, I did not give up, as I boldly stated at in my public weigh-in, “Failure is NOT an Option”. I quickly went to work to create my own ranch at home. I educated myself, found a local trainer and went to work to develop the skills necessary to succeed. I was disciplined, worked hard, embraced my faith and never gave up.

I got up from that failure to return to the Finale having lost 91 pounds.  But that is not the whole story.  The real story is that I was a 50-year-old African-American woman with a family history of heart disease, stroke & diabetes.  Heart disease claimed both of my grandmothers.  My father lost his leg to diabetes and his life to a stroke.  Two of my sisters are insulin dependent.  I am a breast cancer survivor.  And with all of that, I still thought I would be OK.  Unfortunately I am not alone. I was in denial.  And there are millions just like me.  They have given up, choosing to ignore painful, life threatening truths.  The bigger truth is that we can choose life when we face the brutal facts and choose to change.

Why Ride?
Just like many of you, I have suffered a great loss due to diabetes, with the passing of my father. On behalf of nearly 25.8 million Americans with diabetes and their families and friends, I am committed to fight this disease. I am counting on you to help our team make a difference! The funds we raise will support the American Diabetes Association’s important research, information and advocacy efforts and its mission: to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

Join my team!

To join our team:

  1. Visit diabetes.org/tour and select the Houston event
  2. Select “Join a Team” at the top
  3. Search for “BL360” and register
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

