New Year, New You!

The ‘New Year, New You’ Health Fair in Pearland, TX

Pearland Health Fair

From Left: Scott Avery( Davita) , Lucrecia Banda (Davita) , Pamela Huewitt (Houston Leadership Board), Tarah Davis (African American Initiatives, Manager), Deborah Munoz (Davita)

Pearland’s Crosspoint Church started of the New Year with a Women’s Health & Wellness Fair. On January 11, The ADA and DaVita Dialysis joined forces to bring information about diabetes and kidney disease to the church congregation. Diabetes is the leading cause of kidney disease in the U.S. accounting for 44% of new cases each year. Annually, more than 48 thousand people living with diabetes, begin treatment for end-stage kidney disease in the United States.

Tarah Davis, ( Manager, Mission Delivery, pictured above) is the newest member of the ADA staff in Southeast Texas, and she shares her story below.

My name is Tarah Davis and I am so very excited to be the newest addition to the Houston American Diabetes team.

I graduated from Rockhurst University in 2010 with a bachelor’s degree in Communications and a minor in Business Administration. I had no idea what field I wanted to pursue.

After three years of trying to find a career I was passionate about, I finally broke down and asked God, “What do you want me to do?” He said, “work in the not-for-profit field”.  Not knowing any details, I applied for a non-profit internship. I got an interview with the American Diabetes Association the next week and I told them, “I’m a hard worker; I can show you better than I can tell you and all I need is the opportunity.” That internship opportunity given to me by the Tour De Cure team turned into my dream opportunity in a career doing what I love.

I’ve long known that my passion was about working within my community.  Previously, I had founded my own outreach ministry with my mother designed to help senior citizens improve better quality of life through entertainment, scripture and musical therapy. I am passionate about cultivating better and more effective ways to reach out to our community.  Ecclesiastics 4:9 tells us , “ Two are better than one”. My goal is to partner with the community to heal a multitude of people!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Diabetes Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

